John Martin Quartet

Dawning - Shadow
  • FIR-E Records
  • Recorded at the Artesuono Studios, Udine, Italy.
  • Released 23 February 2011

Sample Tracks

  •       Swagger
  •        I Wish
  •        Looking Up
  •        Moving On
  •        Dawning


John Martin – Tenor and Soprano Sax
Jonjo Grisdale – Piano
Tim Fairhall – Double Bass
Andy Ball – Drums


Dawning’ is the debut album from the John Martin Quartet and reveals a young saxophonist/composer with a warm and engaging voice. The eight original tracks (all by Martin) that make up the album have a strong sense of melody with thoughtful interplay between the composed elements and the supple improvisations of the Quartet. It has been recorded beautifully at Artesuono studio in Italy, and is characterized by a warm and open sound, and a certain emotional directness (which is nonetheless far from naïve). Martin’s uncluttered improvisations and the dynamic structures created by the band respond to a wide range of inspiration, from English jazz and folk and the ECM sound to Wayne Shorter and the downtown New York scene.

The artwork was painted from the music by Jon Braley, who was a finalist in 2010 for the prestigious John Moores painting prize. www.jonbraley.com