The Huntress

Emma Smith

Huntress- Shadow
  • Frantic Jazz
  • Recorderd at The Bunker and Clowns Pocket Studios
  • Released 1 February 2012

Sample Tracks

  •       The Huntress
  •       Old Devil Moon
  •       Stolen Child
  •       Can't Slow Down
  •       She's Like The Swallow


Emma Smith – Vocals
Matt Robinson – Piano
Tim Thornton – Double Bass
Andy Ball – Drums


There’s so much to recommend in this debut album from vocalist Emma Smith, it’s difficult to know where to start. The album consists of no fewer than seven originals, and the arresting title track immediately alerts you to the sophistication of Smith’s compositional thinking. Saving the final surprise until last, the singer’s layered backing harmonies appear like a sudden ray of celestial light. Whether it’s the surprising chromaticisms and turbulent undercurrents of ‘Can’t Slow Down’, the telling combination of firepower and precision that lights up ‘Stolen Child’ or the wordless vocalisations of ‘John’s Law’, Smith shows great imagination and vitality.

As an added bonus, ‘I’ll Be Seeing You’ is one of three songs graced by a typically fine solo from the great Stan Sulzmann. The free time introduction to ’56 Weeks’ – Smith and Sulzmann starting in melodic unison before separating out into delicious two-part harmony, accompanied by bowed bass, delicate piano filigree and plashes of percussive colour – is just one of the many standout moments. And aside from her impressive originals, Smith also demonstrates a facility for casting hallowed standards such as ‘Old Devil Moon’ in fresh new rhythmic constructs.

– Peter Quinn, Jazzwise